top of page
  • Writer's picturermlouden91

Finding Balance Between Departments

My time at Newfields is split between two mentors and two departments: the education department with Susan Martis and the audience evaluation department with Tiffany Leason.

One day I’m interviewing museum guests about their experiences in The LUME: “How would you describe The LUME to friends or family? Did you visit the activity space?” The next day I’m a regular Johnny Appleseed, leading a group of tiny tots to the orchard and telling them all about apple trees. The day after that? Who knows?! I could be assisting with artmaking in the studios, entering data into Excel, or researching how art museums can help foster empathy.

With only 18 hours to give each week, my audience engagement fellowship has quickly morphed into a juggling act. There’s much to do for each department and little time available.


So, what’s the trick? Time management, organization, and communication.


Admittedly, I didn’t have this figured out the first day on the job. It has been a learning experience. And while my planner has always been my best friend, it has recently become my best friend for life. Everything is added to my physical planner and Google calendar, and then reminders are sent directly to my cell phone.


I also keep separate to-do lists for each department. Each project is listed in chronological order by due date and priority.


I try to make planning fun or, at least, visually appealing. Everything in my planner is color-coded. Internship class? Light blue. Independent study? Green. Fellowship? Pink. And I plaster the pages with stickers: little cups of coffee, gold stars, and rainbows.

This may all seem excessive, but it’s how I keep a handle on things. Everyone has their own methods for time management and organization. This is what works for me, but feel free to share your own tips in the comments section!


The most important trick to balancing duties between two departments, however, is communication.


Newfields is still functioning in hybrid mode. Some days I work on-site and other days I work from home. Because of this, I rarely see my mentors in-person, nor do my mentors meet with each other. One mentor may need my assistance reviewing survey responses and compiling data into a presentation the same day my other mentor needs me to lead a program.


Communication of my schedule, what I’m doing for each department, and when tasks must be completed? That’s all on me. Thankfully, my mentors understand. Together we determine which tasks take priority and I’m able to maintain this delicate balance between departments.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page